Sharing personal folders
The publishing (sharing) of personal folders feature allows users to share their Outlook data with the people they work with on a day-to-day basis, e.g. mail, calendar, contacts, tasks, etc.
You will barely see any difference as you will have the same convenience working in Outlook as before. You do not have to change your habits, and you can still work with your calendar, tasks, mail, and contact list just as you did earlier. You can still use the reminders or synchronize data with portable devices like mobile phones or PDA. However, CodeTwo Public Folders gives you new capabilities of groupwork in MS Outlook. When you start sharing selected folders, other users will be able to create new appointments, deadlines and tasks directly in your personal folders. They will also be able to view and add contacts to your contact base and have access to your inbox or sent items folders.
|Fig. 1. Users can share their personal folders with co-workers.|
While you are still working on data in your personal folders, other users will see the folders you share in the public folder called Other users' folders. In this folder, each user sharing his/her personal folders is given a separate branch containing all his/her shared folders (Fig. 1.).
Since by publishing your private data, you share it over the network, the management of access rights is of utmost importance. By default, when you start sharing your data, everyone in your network will only have the read access rights, but as the owner you can change those rights in any way you want.
The items in the shared folders marked as Private will always remain invisible to other users. This way, even though you are sharing your personal folder, you can still restrict access to some personal data to all users.
There are two ways in which you can share a personal folder with other users.
To share a selected personal folder to other users, right-click on it and from the context menu choose Share this folder (Fig. 2.).
|Fig. 2. Sharing a personal folder from the context menu.|
After you share the folder, a list will display defining users access rights to that folder (Fig. 3.). Grant appropriate rights to users and click OK. By default, all users have the right to read the folder but they cannot make any changes. Learn more about managing access rights
|Fig. 3. Setting access rights to a shared folder.|
From the Outlook menu, select Public Folders, My shared folders from the Outlook menu or click My Shared Folders on the CodeTwo Public Folders toolbar. A dialog with a list of personal folders currently shared by you will appear (Fig. 4.). If you are sharing it for the first time, the list will be empty. If you do not want to share a personal folder anymore, select it from the list and click the Stop sharing button.
|Fig. 4. The dialog box with a list of shared personal folders.|
Click the Share button and choose a folder you want to share from the personal folders tree (Fig. 5.).
|Fig. 5. Selecting a personal folder to share.|
Confirm your selection by clicking OK, and a box for access rights management of a shared folder will display (Fig. 6.). By default, each user has only the read access rights to your data. To define the rights for a new user, click the Add user button, enter the user's name (the name defined in the Options of the MS Outlook Add-in) and click OK. The user will be added to the list. By checking or unchecking the appropriate rights you can now define what actions the user will be allowed to take upon the folder.
|Fig. 6. Defining user access rights to a folder.|
On the user list, there is a user called Default. The rights granted to that user are the folder's default access rights for every user who does not appear on the list.
If you want to remove a user from the list, mark that user and click the Remove user button. The user will be removed from the list and from now on he/she will have the default access rights to that folder.
Click OK to save the changes.
The table below describes the rights that can be granted to a user regarding a given folder:
|The access right name||Description|
|Read items||User can read items in the folder. If the user does not have this right, he/she will see an empty folder.|
|Edit own items||User can only edit the items that have been created by himself/herself.|
|Edit all items||User can edit all items in the folder.|
|Delete own items||User can only delete the items that have been created by himself/herself.|
|Delete all items||User can delete all items in the folder. This right does not allow users to delete folders. In order to delete a folder, the "Folder owner" right is required.|
|Create items||User can create new items in the folder.|
|Create subfolders||This right only applies to public folders, because other users cannot create subfolders in your shared personal folders.|
|Folder visible||User can see the folder. If the user does not have this privilege, he/she can neither see the folder nor any of its subfolders.|
|Folder owner||Only the user who has this right is allowed to delete a folder, change its name and define access rights to the folder for other users. The folder can have more than one owner, but among them there always has to be a user, who shares it.|
|Mobile read||A user can only read items in the folder on a mobile device. If he/she does not have this right he/she will not see the folder.|
|Mobile write||A user can read folder items, edit them and create new ones on a mobile device. If he/she does not have this right he/she will only be able to read the items (in case of having Mobile read access) or will not see the folder at all.|
Most access rights are independent of each other. For example, a user can have the "Create items" right, but not the "Read items" right. In this particular example, after creating an object, it will be visible for the time of the session and will disappear after restarting Outlook.
The interdependent access rights are the "Edit own items", "Edit all items", "Delete own items" and "Delete all items" rights. A user cannot have the "Edit all items" right without having the "Edit own items" right simultaneously. The same applies to the deletion of objects.
The objects in the shared folders marked as Private will always remain invisible to other users independently from the rights they have. This way, even though you share your personal folders, you can still keep your personal data and nobody will have access to those resources.
To open a shared personal folder of another user, choose Public Folders, Other users' shared folders option from the Outlook menu or click Other users' shared folders in the CodeTwo Public Folders toolbar. A dialog box containing a list of already opened shared folders will display (Fig. 7.). If you haven't opened any folder yet, the list will be empty.
|Fig. 7. The list of other users' shared folders.|
If you wish to open another shared folder, click the Open folder button. A list of all users sharing folders and the folders accessible to you will display (Fig. 8.).
|Fig. 8. The list of all shared personal folders.|
Users sharing folders are identified by the domain or computer name (if there's no domain) and their username (the name used to connect to the Syncing Master).
Choose the folder you want to open (Fig. 8.) and click OK. A dialog box with the folder name will display (Fig. 9.), which you may change at any time you want (the folder will be displayed under this name in your folder list). Click OK.
|Fig. 9. Changing the display name of a folder.|
The folder will appear on the list of opened folders (Fig. 7.) and in the C2PublicFolders branch in the Other users' folders (Fig. 10.). From now on you can start working on this folder along its contents. Remember that the actions you can take depend on the access rights that are granted to you by its owner.
After opening a personal folder of another user, it appears in a corresponding branch of the C2PublicFolders tree (Fig. 10.). Please note that it will not appear in your personal folders.
|Fig. 10. Shared personal folders of other users are displayed in theC2PublicFolders branch and not in your personal folders.|
If you want to close the shared folder of another user, remove it from the C2PublicFolders tree or select it from the opened folders list (Fig. 7.) and click the Close folder button.