This software has been discontinued. You can check the list of
currently available CodeTwo products here.

File sharing

In CodeTwo Public Folders, you can not only create and share a new folder but also choose and share the existing one that already contains files. The tab options are linked to folders shared by users in the File sharing app (installed in the bundled Client Apps) or using the Administration Panel.

Access rights

To access this tab open the Administration Panel (Start menu, All Programs, CodeTwo, Public Folders Syncing Master), click Administration panel and choose the Outlook sharing tab (Fig. 1.).

An administrator can define access rights to shared users' folders containing files. Furthermore, he/she can also delete current and share new folders.

The Access rights window consists of 2 panels (Fig. 1.).
In the left panel (Folders tree) there is a current structure of shared folders.
In the right panel (Access rights to the selected folder), there are current folder access rights assigned to particular users.
Please note that the access rights always correspond to the one currently chosen folder from the Folders tree.

The shared files access rights' management window.
Fig. 1. The shared files access rights' management window.

User rights for the selected folder

At first, after the installation of CodeTwo Public Folders every user has got full access rights to all shared folders (unless a person, who shares the particular folder disabled Default user's rights). Therefore, users can create, edit nad delete every folder along its subfolders. If you would like to restrict some users' rights, you have to add them to the right panel list and define their access rights. Every CodeTwo Public Folders user is identified by his/her user name, which is defined while the user's account is created.

Learn more about creating user's account

On the panel, there are the following buttons available:

  PF - Plus icon. Add user
  PF - X icon. Remove user

To define user's rights, add him/her to the users' list by clicking Add user. Next, a window will display, where you can choose between one and several users. Confirm your choice by clicking OK (the user will appear on the list). When the user's account is ready, define the access rights to the chosen folders by checking/unchecking particular rights next to the user name.

To remove a user from the list, mark the username and click Remove user. The user is going to be removed from the list and from now on he/she will be assigned default access rights to the selected folder.

On the users' list, there is always a Default user assigned to every folder. Its access rights define the default rights to the currently chosen public folder. Each user, who is not added to the access rights list of a particular folder, has a default rights to this folder (unless a person, who shares the particular folder disabled Default user's rights).

All Access rights settings will not be saved until you click OK or Apply.

Folders access rights may be managed by their owners when they start to share them directly from the File Sharing App panel. Learn more

Folders tree panel

On the folders' list, there is a parent folder CodeTwo Shared Folders containing all shared folders.

On the panel, there are the following buttons available:

PF - Copy rights icon.  Copy rights
PF - Plus icon.  New folder
PF - X icon.  Delete folder
PF - Open folder.  Open folder

The Copy rights option allows to quickly copy recent folder's access rights to all its subfolders. For instance, if you want all shared folders to have the same access rights, first define the CodeTwo Shared Folders rights and then click Copy rights. From that moment, those rights will correspond to all folders.

If you want to add a new folder, click once on CodeTwo Shared Folders. Next, click New folder, define the name along its description and press OK. The description may be added or modified whenever you like by clicking Modify located on the right from the description field.

To add a subfolder, click once on the particular folder and hit the New folder button. Next, enter the subfolder's name and confirm by clicking OK.

To delete a folder, mark it and click Delete folder. The only folder that cannot be removed is the parent CodeTwo Shared Folders.

If you want to open an existing folder from the folders tree, click on it and choose Open folder.

In the table below you will find folder access rights (excluding the parent CodeTwo Shared Folders folder) that may be granted to users:

The access right name Description
Create / edit files A user can create new and edit current files.
Create subfolders A user can create subfolders in a marked folder.
Delete folders A user can delete a folder from a drive. It means that no other user can have access to that folder anymore. Furthermore, a user who subscribes a folder and does not have a right to do that, can also delete that folder from his local drive but it will remain accessible to other users.
Delete files and subfolders A user can delete all files and subfolders in the chosen folder.
Folder visible A folder is visible to users. If a user does not have this right, he/she will not be able to see either a folder or its subfolders.

It is worth notice that most of the rights are independent. For example, a user can have the right to "Create / edit files" but not to "Delete files and subfolders".

The right that blocks all other rights is the Folder visible. If a user has not been granted this right, he/she will not be able to see the folder, although he/she might have all other access rights to that folder.

In the table below you will find the CodeTwo Shared Folders access rights that may be granted to users:

The access right name Description
Create shared folders A user can create new folders in the CodeTwo Shared Folders.
Delete shared folders A user can delete folders in the CodeTwo Shared Folders.

As you can see there is no way to create and edit files in the CodeTwo Shared Folders. This folder is used for storing other shared folders. Furthermore, it cannot be deleted because all shared folders would be removed together with their content.

Was this information useful?