Mapping SharePoint users, groups and permissions

CodeTwo Backup allows you to restore backed-up SharePoint data to the original or another SharePoint server. This data also includes permission levels assigned to individual users or groups of users. When restoring SharePoint data, make sure to map users, groups, and permissions between the source and target site collections. In this article, you will find out how to restore permission levels in CodeTwo Backup.

Important

If you don’t map users, groups or permission levels when restoring data to another server, the administrator whose account was used to connect to the target server will be the only user that can access the restored data on SharePoint.

Mapping is done in the Permissions step of the SharePoint restore job (Fig. 1.).

Backup Permissions step
Fig. 1. The Permissions step of the SharePoint restore job.

The program allows you to:

Mapping users, groups, and permissions to original objects

Selecting the Map to original objects option (see Fig. 1. above) will restore all permission levels to the exact same state as they are configured on the SharePoint server. By doing so, you can rest assured that all users will have the same access rights and permissions once the SharePoint data has been restored.

Important

This option is available only when you select the Restore to the original [object] option in the Target location step of the SharePoint restore job wizard (Fig. 2.). 

Backup restore to original location
Fig. 2. Restoring a SharePoint object to its original location.

Mapping users, groups, and permissions to custom objects

Select the Map objects option and click the respective Map button to:

  • map users and groups (Fig. 3., point a), or
  • map permission levels (Fig. 3., point b).

Backup mapping options
Fig. 3. Opening the mapping configuration window.

Either way, a mapping window will open (Fig. 4.), where you can:

Backup Map users and groups window
Fig. 4. The Map users and groups window.

Important

Keep in mind that if you're restoring SharePoint data to another server, there may be some differences between the source and target objects. In such a case, if some groups are missing on the target server, create them first, click the Refresh button to reload all object from the given site collection, and continue with the mapping process. Otherwise, users that were assigned to such groups may have no access to the restored SharePoint data.

Mapping objects automatically

If you want the program to map the objects automatically, based on their names and/or email addresses, simply use the Automap button (Fig. 5.).

Backup Automapping
Fig. 5. Automapping SharePoint objects.

Tip

You can easily undo the automatic mapping action by clicking the Unmap button directly after performing the automapping. 

In a case some objects were not mapped, you need to map them manually.

Mapping objects manually

There are two ways of mapping objects manually:

  • Select an object in the Source box and select a corresponding object in the Target box and click Map (Fig. 6.).

Backup manual mapping
Fig. 6. Mapping objects by using the Map button.

  • Drag an object in the Source box and drop it on a corresponding object in the Target box.

You map multiple source objects (e.g. users) to a single target object. However, the same source object cannot be mapped to more than one target object. You can select multiple items in the Source box with Ctrl, Shift or Ctrl+A keys. If you want to map another object to a target object that was already mapped, make sure to select the Mapped checkbox first (see Fig. 8. below). 

Important

The Target box lists only users that were added to the SharePoint site to which you are about to restore the data. If you don't see a particular user in the Target box, add that user to the SharePoint site in question, and then click Refresh in the Map users and groups window. 

Unmapping mapped objects

To unmap objects, select them in the Mapped box (use Ctrl, Shift or Ctrl+A keys to select multiple objects) and click Unmap (Fig. 7.).

Backup unmapping
Fig. 7. Unmapping mapped objects.

Filtering SharePoint objects displayed in the mapping window

Select the following checkboxes to show specific SharePoint objects on the Source or Target lists (Fig. 8.):

  • Not mapped – shows users, groups and permission levels that were not mapped.
  • Mapped – shows users, groups and permission levels that were mapped.
  • Users – shows users only (option not available when mapping permission levels). 
  • Groups – shows groups only (option not available when mapping permission levels).

Backup mapping filters
Fig. 8. Applying filters in the mapping window.

Saving mapping information

The program allows you to save mapping configuration and use it in future restore jobs. Simply click Save map (Fig. 9.) to save the configuration file in the location you specify, and click Load map to load that file.

Backup saving mapping configuration
Fig. 9. Saving mapping configuration.

Important

You can only load the mapping configuration file created for the same source and target locations.

Was this information useful?