Installation process

Running CodeTwo Backup installer will install two components of the program: Backup Service and Administration Panel. The program needs to be installed using a local administrator account on any machine that meets the installation requirements. This machine also needs to be turned on at all times, as otherwise no backups will be created. Make sure that the machine on which you install the program has a stable and uninterrupted high-speed internet connection.

The table below briefly describes the two components of the program and required installation rights:

CodeTwo Backup components Purpose Installation rights

Backup Service

Executes all jobs and settings defined in the Administration Panel.

  • Local administrator

Administration Panel

Used for defining all jobs and settings of the program.

The program is installed via a typical Windows installation wizard. You need to go through all the steps that include e.g. accepting the License Agreement or selecting an installation path.

After the installation is completed, the wizard closes and the program starts automatically. Initially, the Quick tour window is displayed which allows you to learn about the main features of the program (Fig. 1.).

Backup Quick tour
Fig. 1. The Quick tour window.

Impact of the software on your IT infrastructure

During the installation and configuration of the program, CodeTwo Backup makes the following changes to your system:

Changes to operating system

The program lets you install the required .NET 4.6 Framework and/or Windows Management Framework Core if either of these is not already installed.

Changes to Exchange server and Office 365 (Exchange Online)

The program grants impersonation permissions over all users in an organization to the admin account used to configure a connection to your server.

Changes to SharePoint (SharePoint Online and on-premises SharePoint Server)

The admin account used to back up or restore SharePoint data is assigned the Owner role to every SharePoint site collection, team site and OneDrive for Business site included in the SharePoint backup or restore job.

The program changes the following versioning settings of a SharePoint list or library for the duration of a SharePoint restore job:

  • Content Approval > disabled
  • Document Version History > Create major versions
  • Require Check Out > enabled

See also

Supported platforms and system requirements – learn more about supported versions of Exchange and SharePoint servers and operating systems, program's hardware requirements, and necessary roles and privileges an administrator account must have to back up and restore data. The information about what data can be backed up by using the program is also included.

Was this information useful?