Knowledge Base

CodeTwo Public Folders maintenance

This article is meant for users of CodeTwo Public Folders. This software has been discontinued. You can check the list of currently available CodeTwo products here.

Problem:

You notice that after using CodeTwo Public Folders for a long time your PC or client PCs work slowly, are laggy, use too much resources.

Solution:

The problem may be caused by too much data being synchronized, corrupted Outlook data files or (in result) not enough PC resources. Follow the steps described below to avoid such problems in the future:

  1. Purge Deleted Items folders on your client machines. Please check the Deleted Items folders in your C2PublicFolders folder tree in Outlook. If you find much data in it and it is not necessary to keep it - delete it. Even if the data is not used the software will still synchronize it among all your users.

    468-4
    Fig. 1. C2PublicFolders Deleted Items in Outlook.

  2. Once you clean up deleted items folders in Client Apps, you may also want to remove any files you find in the DeletedItems folder of the Syncing Master database. In order to do that you would have to stop the CodeTwo Public Folders service on your Syncing Master machine, access the database location and delete the contents of the DeletedItems folder:

    468-3
    Fig. 2. Deleted Items in software database.

  3. Check your PST files with ScanPST tool. The problems experienced while using CodeTwo Public Folders may be a result of corrupted PST files in your Outlook, both the default Outlook PST file and CodeTwo Public Folders PST file. You can check them by running a few times Microsoft ScanPST tool.
  4. Make sure you use Access Rights management features to limit access to your shared resources only for users who really need it. In large organizations there are tons of data you can share among your users, but the fact is that not all data needs to be available to all your organization members. For that reason CodeTwo Public Folders has been equipped with the option of assigning user permissions for shared folders. Using that option you can choose which folders are visible for certain users and which not. This way they will not need to download all the data you actually share. The purpose of such action is to save disk space, save PC resources and limit the network bandwidth used by CodeTwo Public Folders.

    Please note that taking away access rights does not remove data from the Client App. Follow the step below to refresh the Client App PST file upon changing permissions in order to make sure no one has any local copy of restricted data.

  5. Similarly to step 2. the PST file created by CodeTwo Public Folders may also get damaged and cause a number of issues. If you face such a problem you can refresh the pst file by letting the software to recreate it from scratch properly.

  6. If following all the above steps has still not proven to be helpful you may attempt to recreate the whole CodeTwo Public Folders database.

    Be aware that such operation carries the high risk of loosing some of your shared data. Consider it a last resort option.