How to update or upgrade and what is the difference

The version number

The program version is always visible at the very top of the main window of the program. It consists of 4 numbers separated by dots, e.g. 3.0.0.337, following the pattern below:

[major].[minor].[maintenance].[build]

which mean the following:

  • [major] - the first figure is the major version number; it rarely changes – only when significant features are introduced to the software.
  • [minor] - the second digit changes every time when we release a new version with planned improvements (see version history).
  • [maintenance] - the digit in the third position will change only when there is a software release that was not originally planned. This usually happens when an important bugfix must be added and cannot wait for the next minor version change. 
  • [build] - the last number changes automatically every time programmers compile a new build during the development cycle, so it might be quite big (e.g. 337) and is usually meaningless for the end user.

Upgrade

An upgrade is when you install a newer version of the software, replacing the previous version you have had installed so far, and the newer version installer has a higher first figure of the version number. For example, you currently have version 2.6.0.337 installed, and you replace it with version 3.0.0.156.

Upgrades are typically not free but in most cases purchasing an upgrade is much cheaper than buying a new license key. Before upgrading, consult with CodeTwo Support to confirm your upgrade eligibility or purchase options.

How to upgrade

Detailed instructions on how to upgrade the program from version 1.x or 2.x to 3.x. are available here.

Update

An update is when you install a newer version of the software, replacing the previous version you have had installed so far, and the newer version installer has a higher second, third or fourth figure of the version number. For example, you currently have version 3.0.1.6 installed, and you replace it with version 3.1.0.337 (or update 3.0.0.343 to 3.0.1.6, or update 3.0.0.342 to 3.0.0.350).

All updates within the same major version are free for licensed users.

How to update

  1. Download the installer from the program's download page onto the machine where CodeTwo migration software is installed.
  2. Before you proceed, close the Administration Panel of your CodeTwo migration program. If any jobs are running in the background, they will be paused by the installer, and you will have to resume them manually after the update.

    Warning

    Also, if you are performing an update from any version prior to 3.2.x, make sure to read this information first.

  3. Launch the downloaded installer and install the program.
  4. If you have more instances of the program in your environment, perform the update on each machine where the program is installed.
  5. After the update process is complete, you can launch the program. All of your settings and jobs are retained, but you need to resume the jobs manually (this doesn't apply to updates specified in the box below). 

Updating the program to version 3.2.x and above

If the wizard detects that version 3.1.x or older is already installed on your machine, the wizard will request you to uninstall it prior to the update. However, before you do so, finish all migration jobs that you started while using the currently installed version of the program. Because version 3.2.x introduces some major changes in the program's architecture, all configured server connections, migration jobs as well as the migration progress and program settings will not be imported to the newer versions of CodeTwo Office 365 Migration. If you don't finish your migration jobs and configure the same jobs in version 3.2.x (or newer), you may end up with duplicated items in the target mailboxes.

The current program settings will not be deleted from your local drive after the update in case you decide to roll back to that version at a later date.

Was this information useful?