Restoring items in target folders
By default, in one-way synchronization the target folders will always contain the same items as the source folders. While editing the items in the source folder, all changes will be replicated to the target folder. Furthermore, the program by default overwrites all changes made on items in the target folder during synchronization. It means that if a user makes any change to the target folder items and saves them, the application will initiate the synchronization and the changed items in the target folder will be replaced with their copies from the source folder. Therefore, the same situation applies to deleting items in the target folders.
Note that the only item type that won't be compared with the source is a new item created in the Target Folder. Therefore, the program will neither change nor delete it.
However, there is a way to adjust the replication of items in the target folders using additional options. To control how the synchronized items are restored in the target folders, open up the One-Way sync options window (it is available via the Options button located within Folders scheduled for synchronization pane once any one-way synchronization task is chosen) (Fig. 1.).
|Fig. 1. Entering options in the one-way synchronization type.|
The One-way sync options window includes three features:
- Restoring edited source items in the target folders
- Restoring deleted source items in the target folders
- Removing deleted source items from the target folders
Please note that all three features are turned on by default and will continue to replicate changed items in the target folders until deactivated.
Restoring edited items in the target folders
By unchecking this option (Fig. 2.) you will be able to introduce changes in the target folders scheduled for synchronization ensuring that the items won't be restored from the source folder.
|Fig. 2. The option responsible for restoring the original values of synchronized items if they have been changed in the target folder.|
Restoring deleted items in the target folders
By unchecking this option (Fig. 3.) you will be allowed to delete items in the target folder scheduled for synchronization. Therefore, the deleted items won't be restored from the source folder.
|Fig. 3. The option responsible for restoring the original items from the source folder if they have been deleted from the target folder.|
Removing deleted source items from the target folders
Once this option is unchecked (Fig. 4.) you ensure the items deleted in the source folder won't be automatically removed from the target folder.
|Fig. 4. The option responsible for removing the original items from the target folder if they have been deleted in the source folder.|