Choosing data synchronization type

The data synchronization type determines the first synchronization cycle of the chosen Outlook folders between two machines. Furthermore, once the initial synchronization is configured, all later synchronization cycles will always be performed in a two-way direction. It means that if you change anything in one folder, the change is reflected in its corresponding folder on another machine as long as it is included in the synchronization process.

Learn more about choosing folders to be synchronized

The initial synchronization can be performed in one of four ways (Fig. 1.):

  1. By keeping data from both PCs
  2. By keeping data from your PC only
  3. By keeping data from other PC only
  4. By customizing the way, the selected folders will be kept on your PCs

Tip

If you do not have CodeTwo Outlook Sync program opened, you can run it from Start Menu by opening the CodeTwo folder and choosing Outlook Sync. Please also check if there is an Outlook Sync icon in your tray (the bottom right corner of your screen) - if so, simply click it to restore the program.

OS - Choose synchronization type.
Fig. 1. Choosing data synchronization type.

If you choose the first option (keeping data from both PC), the initial synchronization in a given partnership will be performed in a two-way mode so that all data Outlook data from selected folders from your machine will be moved to the second machine and vice versa. 

If you select the third option (keeping data from your PC only), the initial synchronization in a given partnership will be performed in a one-way mode so that all Outlook data from selected folders from your machine will be synced with the other computer simultaneously purging items from selected Outlook folders on the other machine. 

If you choose the second option (keeping data from other PC only), the initial synchronization in a given partnership will be performed in a one-way mode so that all Outlook data from selected folders from other machine will be synced with your machine simultaneously purging items from selected Outlook folders on your PC. 

You can also adjust the program to perform the initial synchronization in a custom way. Click Sync Options in the top program's menu, select folders you want to synchronize, click Next and switch to Advanced View by clicking the Advanced View button (Fig. 2.).

Advanced View - choosing data synchronization types.
Fig. 2. Advanced View - choosing data synchronization types.

By using Advanced View, you can configure the program to perform a more complex initial synchronization by treating each folder relationship individually. As this view displays all folders (default / non-default) that currently exist on two machines, you can select a synchronization type for each folder individually. On the contrary, by choosing Simple View, you can only select one synchronization type for all folders. 

To setup a synchronization type for individual folders, click on its First Sync Action (Fig. 3.) and a little triangle will appear on the right-hand side. Clicking the triangle will display a drop down list of first sync actions. Choose a proper action for each folder and click Finish

Advanced View - choosing data synchronization types for individual folders.
Fig. 3. Advanced View - choosing data synchronization types for individual folders.

Please note that you can select a synchronization type only before the initial synchronization. All further synchronizations are always performed in a two-way mode regardless of the settings you selected when choosing data synchronization types.

See next

Choosing data synchronization mode - this article describes two types of data synchronization modes: manual and automatic.

Was this information useful?