Offline modeCodeTwo Public Folders lets you work on data in the shared folders even when a computer is not connected to the network (offline mode). All changes in that case will be saved locally and synchronized with the data on the Syncing Master once the connection is re-established. The ability to work in the offline mode is especially helpful to users who are often outside the office and use portable computers and devices.
The CodeTwo Public Folders toolbar includes Online Mode / Offline Mode icon informing whether the Outlook Add-in is connected to the Syncing Master or it is Offline (Fig.1).
|Fig.1. CodeTwo Public Folders toolbar (in Online and Offline Mode)|
When the Outlook Add-in goes offline, the status window informing in red text about that event, is displayed. The text Offline mode (disconnected) displays (Fig.2). The window automatically disappears after 3 seconds.
|Fig.2. Outlook Add-in displays information about working in the offline mode.|
If, during work, the Outlook Add-in re-establishes the connection, it will display the blue text, saying Online mode (connected) (Fig.3). The window will also automatically disappear after 3 seconds.
|Fig.3. Outlook Add-in displays information about being connected to the Syncing Master.|
When the Outlook Add-in gets connected to the Syncing Master, whether after re-establishing connection or while starting up Outlook, it commences synchronization of the data changed while working offline or changed on the Syncing Master while the Outlook Add-in has been disconnected. The synchronization process can be viewed in the synchronization window, which will be displayed at the bottom right corner of the screen (Fig.4) - the information about data currently being synchronized between the Outlook Add-in and the Syncing Master will be displayed there.
|Fig.4. Synchronization status window displays information about the progress of the synchronization process.|
The synchronization status window will be displayed or not, depending on the selected option in the settings. To enable or disable it, go to the Public Folders, Options menu, choose the Other tab and check or uncheck the Automatically display the synchronization window option (Fig.5). If unchecked, the synchronization window will neither display while opening Outlook, nor during work. The only exception is the situation, when the Outlook Add-in loses or regains connection to the Syncing Master - the status window is then always displayed, independently from the selection.
|Fig.5. The "Automatically display the synchronization window" option.|
The synchronization status window automatically disappears in 3 seconds after it's displayed, but it can be displayed again by choosing the Public Folders, Show/hide status window option from the main Outlook menu or by clicking Show/hide status window in the CodeTwo Public Folders toolbar (Fig. 6).
|Fig.6. The synchronization status window can be displayed or hidden at any moment by choosing the corresponding command from the "Public Folders" menu or from CodeTwo Public Folders toolbar.|
While working with shared folders in the offline mode, you can perform the same tasks as if you were working online, unless you don't have the necessary access rights. In the offline mode, however, you can neither create new folders nor delete the existing ones, nor change their names. If you try to perform any of these tasks, you will receive an error message (see picture 7 below).
|Fig.7. In the offline mode you cannot create, delete or change folder names.|
In the offline mode conflicts are likely as the same object may be changed by one client working online and by another client, working offline. Solutions for such situations are described in the Resolving conflicts section.