See below for a list of advanced topics:
Resolving conflictsSimultaneous work on the same element
In an environment with many users working on the same data, there is a danger of mutual overwriting data if users are working on the same element at the same time. Preventing such situations is an important functionality of the software. When several users open the same element at the same time in order to change it, after the first one saves the changes, the others will be working with the outdated copy of the element and they will have to open this element again. When a user tries to save changes on the outdated copy, he will be informed about it with the following message:
"It has not been possible to save the element because it has been changed by another user. Do you want to create a copy of the element in the default folder?"
The user can save the element in the personal default folder and check the changes made by another user. In that way no data will be lost.
Return from the offline mode
A user who is working with public folders in offline mode can create new and delete old elements, and can also edit the existing elements. All these changes are saved locally on the user's computer and transferred to Syncing Master at the moment of getting connected. In a similar way, all changes made on the Syncing Master at the time when the given Outlook Add-in was working offline are transferred to the Outlook Add-in at the moment of getting connection.
Conflicts in the offline mode are unavoidable. The same element may be worked on by one client online and by other clients in the offline mode. In such cases, the CodeTwo Public Folders uses an algorithm "the last one prevails" - which means that the changes made by the last client returning from the offline mode are transferred to the Syncing Master. If an element has been changed first at Client A working online, and then at Client B working offline, at the moment of connecting Client B to the Syncing Master, he will overwrite the changes made by Client A.
If some element has been only changed at Client A, working online, this change will be obviously recorded by Client B, when he returns from the offline mode.
The situation is slightly different when Client A that is working online removes a folder, and Client B that is working offline makes changes to the elements in this folder. At the moment of Client B getting connected, the folder will be deleted and changes made to it will not be saved.
A situation in which a user working on the Client B computer in the offline mode have made changes to elements of the folder. Meanwhile, an administrator has deprived this user of the right to edit elements in the folder. When Client B re-establishes connection to the network, the changes he/she has made offline to the Syncing Master will be transferred, even though he was deprived of the right to edit elements in this folder.
When one of the users changes data in the public folders, this data is being immediately circulated by the Syncing Master module among all Outlook Add-ins currently working within the network. At start up, an Outlook Add-in can download from the Syncing Master all changes made to the public folders at the time when the Outlook Add-in was not connected. CodeTwo Public Folders instantly synchronizes all the changes made by the users to the public folders and elements, except for the cases below. In the current version the following changes are not being synchronized:
In the current version, CodeTwo Public Folders cannot be defined as a location of mail delivery. Some limitations arise from that fact. Since there must be a location where mail is being delivered in the Outlook profile, the profile has to include "Personal Folders", in addition to public folders. In that case, Outlook default folders, such as Inbox, Outbox, Calendar, Tasks, are created in personal folders and in the public folders there is no functionality closely related to default folders:
A local copy of public folders is stored in a PST file in each computer with an Outlook Add-in installed. By having local access to the public folders PST file, a user is able to work with public folders in offline mode when CodeTwo Public Folders Syncing Master is unavailable. Each user of a computer has their own separate PST file in which data from public folders visible to them is stored. If Microsoft Office Outlook version 2003 or 2007 is installed on a computer, the size of the file cannot exceed 20 GB. The data limit for PST files of users of Microsoft Outlook 2010 is set at 50GB. For versions of Outlook earlier than 2003, the size of the file cannot exceed 2 GB.
If the size of the file reaches the limit, a warning will be displayed. In order to reduce the size of local PST file, you can compact the file, remove some unnecessary data from public folders or remove a a user's right to see certain folders.
How to increase the size limit of the PST file
How to compact local data file of the Outlook Addin
The size of data stored in the module of CodeTwo Public Folders Syncing Master is unlimited (the only limitation is the availability of free space on a disk).