Troubleshooting Public Folders migration

When configuring the connection to a target server, the connection wizard checks if the provided admin account is assigned the Public Folders role. If the role is missing, the following warning message is shown during the Configuration step (Fig. 1.):

Role 'Public Folders' is not assigned to admin account

Important

The Public Folders role is only required when you’re migrating public folders. If you only plan to migrate mailboxes, you can ignore this warning.

O365 Migr troubleshooting Public Folders warning
Fig. 1. A warning message informing about the missing management role.

Important

If the program is unable to check the roles assigned to the admin account, it means that the used account does not have the View-Only Configuration role assigned (learn more).

The program will attempt to assign this role automatically (Fig. 2.), as well as other missing roles. Click Yes to proceed.

O365 Migr troubleshooting assign optional roles
Fig. 2. Automatically assigning the missing management role.

If the program is unable to assign the missing roles, it means that the account provided during the Configuration step doesn't have appropriate rights to do so. To assign these roles, you will be asked to enter credentials of an admin user who is assigned the Global administrator role (Fig. 3.). Please also check, if you didn't misspell the entered credentials.

O365 Migration troubleshooting admin cred2
Fig. 3.  Providing credentials of an account that is assigned
the Global administrator role.

Important

If you intend to provide the credentials of a Global administrator account that has the multi-factor authentication enabled, make sure to enter the app password instead of the regular Office 365 password. Otherwise, the program will not be able to use this account to assign the missing roles. Learn more.

Enter the UPN manually or click Browse to choose another account from the same domain. Provide a valid password and click OK. The missing roles will be assigned, and the Configuration step will finish successfully. 

Important

Note that only the credentials specified in the Admin account step are used to connect to the source or target server. Credentials provided in the Configuration step are only used once to assign the missing roles. Therefore, you will not be asked to provide the credentials of other admin users again as long as you use the same admin account for the migration process.

If you don't want the program to assign any roles automatically, you can do it manually, following the steps described in this KB article.

Was this information useful?