Userguide
Table of Contents
Go To the Program Website
If you are using CodeTwo Exchange Rules 2007 version 2.x or older, please consult this User's Manual.

Sent Items Update
CodeTwo Exchange Rules 2007 is a server-side application and as such its operation is transparent to the end user. However, the program supports Sent Items Update that enables end users to see how the messages look after processing by CodeTwo Exchange Rules 2007 and how they appear at the recipient's machine. This way the end user of the application will see if their signatures and disclaimers are inserted correctly to messages as well as find out if the remaining actions are taken on their messages such as auto insertion of attachments, addition of extra recipients, subject modification etc.

Below you can see the difference between the Sent Items folder when the service is not running (Fig.1.), and after it has been configured and running i.e. the user can see the message after processing by CodeTwo Exchange Rules 2007 (Fig.2.).

Sent message view when the Sent Items Update service is not configured.
Fig.1. Sent message view when the Sent Items Update service is not configured.

Sent message view when the Sent Items Update service is configured and running.
Fig.2. Sent message view when the Sent Items Update service is configured and running.


To open the settings of Sent Items Update click Settings located in the toolbar of the main window of the program and then choose Sent items update. The dialog box will display as below (Fig.3.).

Opening the Sent Items Update dialog box.
Fig.3. Opening the Sent Items Update dialog box.

To activate Sent Items Update you may also click the link in the right top corner of the program window "Sent items update service is inactive. Click link to change." (Fig.4.). This feature however doesn't allow to configure the options of Sent Items Update. The configuration is only available by opening Sent Items Update via theSettings button found on the program's toolbar.

Sent Items Update activation link in the program main window.
Fig.4. Sent Items Update activation link in the program main window.

In the dialog box of Sent Items Update that opens the default status of a service that is responsible for updating the Sent Items folders is marked as Disabled. The service needs to be enabled and configured first for the option to work. To activate the service click Enable button next to Status (Fig.5.). After the service is activated it is necessary to configure it to make the program work properly.

Sent Items Update activation link in the program main window.
Fig.5. Sent Items Update activation link in the program main window.

Configuring Updating Service
Sent Items Update requires a Windows service to function, whereas the service requires an account. A user can either create this account manually or ask a configuration wizard to create this account automatically. To start setting up the service responsible for updating the Sent Items folder of users click Change button located next to the Account field. The following dialog box will display (Fig.6.):

Dialog box to create a Windows account for the Sent Items Update service
Fig.6. Dialog box to create a Windows account for the Sent Items Update service.

The service needs an account it will work under. In the dialog box in Fig.6. you are asked to create such an account or choose an existing one. Select Create the account automatically and click Install for the program to create an account and install the service for you. On the other hand, if you want to choose an existing account, select Choose the account manually, click Browse to search for the account, provide the password and click Install. Once the service is installed, a dialog box Installation Successful will appear Fig.7.. If the installation ends in errors, the following screen will display (Fig.8).

Installation of Sent Items Update is successfull.
Fig.7. Installation of Sent Items Update is successfull.

Dialog box in which the installer reports errors during installation of the service.
Fig.8. Dialog box in which the installer reports errors during installation of the service.

It will show which components installed correctly (marked Successful) and which failed to install (marked Failed) as well as components that still await execution. If a component failed to install, the window will provide information on what went wrong and you can choose to attempt to install manually or contact Support. If you click Install Manually, the Manual Installation window will display as below (Fig.9.).

Manual Installer dialog box.
Fig.9. Manual Installer dialog box.

The Manual Installation details all steps required to finalize the installation of the service. The notes under the failed component will inform what needs to be done i.e. which scripts need to be pasted into the Exchange Management Shell console for the user to complete the installation manually.

If you click Contact Support, the following dialog box will open (Fig.10.).

Contact Support form.
Fig.10. Contact Support form.

Please describe the problem you encountered and click Send to send the message including the automatically loaded Log Files to Support Personnel.

If you click Rollback the Sent Items installer will restore the state from before the service installation. If you click Close the service installation changes will be left without rolling them back.

The Sent Items Update service also enables to specify the users or groups whose messages will be updated in the Sent Items folder. To enable the sent items update of the selected mailboxes click Change button next to the Users field on the Sent Items Update settings window. You can choose between updating every mailbox (Update all mailboxes - default option), updating only the users' mailboxes provided (Update the users' mailboxes below only) and updating all mailboxes except for the ones provided (Update all except for the users below) (Fig.11.).
To enable an update of particular mailboxes or disable mailboxes from being updated by the service, click the Add button and choose between users and groups. Remember that you can always remove your selection by clicking the Remove button after marking the unwanted user or group.

Specifying the scope of updated mailboxes.
Fig.11. Specifyng the scope of updated mailboxes.

In order the changes to take effect, click OK and save the changes in the toolbar of the program's main window.