Knowledge Base

How to restore the synchronization in the folders of the users whose windows logon name has changed

This article is meant for users of CodeTwo Public Folders. This software has been discontinued. You can check the list of currently available CodeTwo products here.

Problem:

The windows logon name (or user name in CodeTwo Public Folders) of a user who shares his/her folders has changed, however other users still see his or hers old name.

Solution:

The problem persists prior to the version 5.0 of the CodeTwo Public Folders. Starting with this version the new way of identifying users has been applied and changing a logon name of any user in the Active Directory or a standard user name in the CodeTwo Public Folders for user who shares the folders  does not affect a synchronization. That is why we strongly recommend to upgrade the software to the latest release of the CodeTwo Public Folders.

However if you do not want to upgrade, you can avoid the issue by following the instruction below:

  1. Stop the C2PublicFolders service on the Syncing Master (server machine). Choose StartControl Panel, Administrative Tools, Services. Now find C2PublicFolders service, right click the service and choose Stop.
  2. Remove the previous folders of the user in the database on the Syncing Master. Go into the DataUsers subfolder in the installation folder of the Syncing Master. By default this is

    C:\Program Files\CodeTwo\CodeTwo PublicFolders Server\DataUsers

    Once the shared folders are found by the user, remove them manually or move to another location.

  3. Start the C2PublicFolders service on the Syncing Master. Choose StartControl Panel, Administrative Tools, Services. Now find C2PublicFolders service, right click the service and choose Start. A synchronization will be initiated and the folders shared under the previous name will disappear.
  4. Resume sharing the personal folders of the user. How to share my personal folder with other users.