Knowledge Base

How to open a folder shared by another user

This article is meant for users of CodeTwo Public Folders. This software has been discontinued. You can check the list of currently available CodeTwo products here.

Problem:

Another user has shared his folder and you want to subscribe to it.

Solution:

If another user shares his personal folder and has granted you the appropriate rights, you can open the folder and work directly on the data in it. To open a shared folder of another user, do the following steps:

  1. Choose Public Folders, Other users' shared folders option from the Outlook main menu or on the CodeTwo Public Folders toolbar click Other users’ shared folders:

    24-1
    Fig. 1. CodeTwo Public Folders button from Outlook menu. 

    24/02
    Fig. 2. Other users' shared folders from the Outlook menu or on the CodeTwo Public Folders toolbar.

  2. A dialog box, containing the currently opened folders of other users, will display. If you're opening a shared folder for the first time, the list will be empty. Click the Open folder button to open a new folder:

    24/03
    Fig. 3. A list of currently opened folders.

  3. A tree containing user names and the folders they share will display. Select the folder you want to open and click OK:

    24/04
    Fig. 4. Available folders.

  4. A dialog box with the original name of the folder will display, which you are free to change. The name you specify will exist only on your list of public folders – it does not impact the original name of the folder. The displayed name also can be changed later at any moment directly in the folder list.

    24/05
    Fig. 5. Folder name.

  5. The selected folder will be added to the list. After closing the dialog box, the folder will appear in the "C2PublicFolders\Other users' folders" branch (it will not appear in your personal folders):

    24/06
    Fig. 6. Selected folder will be added to the list.

You can now work in the personal folder of other user the same way as you do in the public folders. Depending on the rights you have, you can create, edit or delete new objects respectively.

See also: