Knowledge Base

How to change behavior of UAC

Problem:

User Account Control (UAC) is a Windows feature that helps you take control of your programs. When an application is trying to perform any task requiring administrator-level permissions, UAC prompts you for confirmation. By default, UAC is running in the Admin Approval Mode - this basically means that in the case of an administrator account, there are two security tokens generated at the time of logon - one with full access and one with limited access. 

The second security token is used to run the Windows Explorer processes and should be considered as a protection layer that prevents administrators from applying changes accidentally. All standard operations and programs which do not require being an administrator are being started using this token.

However, when you open an application that requires administrative rights, UAC automatically prompts you for confirmation. If you agree, the first token (with full access) will be used. Although, if you want to avoid being prompted all the time, you can change the default behavior of UAC.

Solution:

To prevent administrators from being prompted every time they try to open an application that requires administrative privileges, you need to update Local Security Policy:

  1. Open Start Menu and search for Local Security Policy.
    Local Security Policy
    Fig. 1. Searching for Local Security Policy.
  2. Expand Local Policies and choose Security Options.
    Local Security Policy
    Fig. 2. Expanding the tree.
  3. Ensure that the User Account Control: Run all administrators in Admin Approval Mode entry is Enabled.

    If you wish to treat the Built-in Administrator in the same way, ensure that User Account Control: Admin Approval Mode for the Built-in Administrator account entry is also enabled.

  4. Finally, change User Account Control: Behavior of the elevation prompt for administrators in Admin Approval Mode to Elevate without prompting.
    UAC-ElevateWithoutPrompting
    Fig. 3. Changing the default behavior.
  5. Reboot your machine to apply the changes.

See also: