How to update or upgrade and what is the difference

The version number

The program version is always visible at the very top of the main window of the program. It consists of 4 numbers separated by dots, e.g. 5.5.1.7, following the pattern below:

[major].[minor].[maintenance].[build]

which mean the following:

  • [major] - the first figure is the major version number and it changes rarely, only when significant features are introduced to the software.
  • [minor] - the second digit changes every time when we release a new version with planned improvements (this usually happens every quarter, see version history).
  • [maintenance] - the digit in the third position will change only when there is a software release that was not originally planned. This usually happens when an important bugfix must be added and cannot wait for the next minor version change. 
  • [build] - the last number changes automatically every time programmers compile a new build during the development cycle, so it might be quite big (e.g. 337) and is usually meaningless for the end-user.

Upgrade

An upgrade is when you install a newer version of the software, replacing the previous version you have had installed so far, and the newer version installer has a higher first figure of the version number e.g. you currently have version 4.7.6.0 installed and you replace it with version 5.0.0.61.

Upgrades are typically not free but in most cases purchasing an upgrade is much cheaper than buying a new license key. Before upgrading, consult with CodeTwo Support to confirm your upgrade eligibility or purchase options.

How to upgrade

See a separate article on how to upgrade CodeTwo Public Folders 4.x to version 5.x.

We have not yet released CodeTwo Public Folders with major version number 6, so there are no instructions ready yet on future upgrades.

Update

An update is when you install a newer version of the software, replacing the previous version you have had installed so far, and the newer version installer has a higher second, third or fourth figure of the version number e.g. you currently have version 5.4.4.1 installed and you replace it with version 5.5.0.4 (or update 5.5.0.4 to 5.5.1.7, or update 5.5.1.7 to 5.5.1.12).

All updates within the same major version are free for licensed users.

How to update

Simply download the newest installer from the website and install it on top of the existing installation. Your old settings will be retained.

Be aware, you must update both Syncing Master and Client Apps.

Was this information useful?